Dollies, Monsters and Blankies! Oh My!

February 1, 2011

Last week I had the honor of working with the super-talented Nancy Merkling, a completely wonderful friend and amazing photographer.  I brought my bag of yummy knits to her studio, located in the Starline Gallery in lovely Harvard, IL, and the rest is history!  She and her fabulous intern Katie got to work, bringing a new perspective and amazing life to my work.

Hello there, ultra cuteness!!  Here are the latest creatures to come off my needles–a sweet little dolly (my own creation!) and a mama + baby monster (pattern courtesy of Rebecca Danger).

I think she was ready for her closeup!  Can you believe her hair?  I love the pigtails!  Nancy did such a fabulous job capturing her sweetness and snuggliness.

The pattern for this blankie is one that my grandma used to make blankets for my boys when they were born.  Since she isn’t with us anymore, I knew I had to make one for my dear cousin’s new baby girl.  I love this pattern because it’s so classic.  I won’t look at it in 10 years and say, “What was I thinking??”  It’s soft and warm and just right for babies.  I’m getting excited to get started on another one soon.

Okay, doesn’t this totally make you think of a little Italian villa?  I am AMAZED at Nancy’s creativity!  She took these shots in the boiler room at the gallery.  I think I could spend all day every day following her around and soaking up all her creative energy and excitement.  This little guy is a lovie, aka a mini-blanket.  It’s good for tiny ones who want something to snuggle with but can’t have a big blankie yet.

Wow, all this talking about babies and blankies and snuggling is making me want another baby.  Uh oh.

What a treat it was to work with Nancy!  If you ever have the opportunity to spend time with her, you’ll see what I mean.  So so so great to be with!  She offers several different workshops out of her studio for anyone who is looking to learn how to use their camera or hone their photography skills.  I HIGHLY recommend checking them out!  And if you go for a workshop, you’ll get to spend time in the sweetest studio ever.  Really.

Just a note: If you would like your very own sweet little dolly or mama + baby monster, just let me know!  I am able to do custom color combinations and many different sizes.  Email me (sweetlittleknits at gmail dot com) or comment and I will get back to you.  You can also check out my shop at sweetlittleknits.etsy.com.  More monsters are coming soon!

2 Responses to “Dollies, Monsters and Blankies! Oh My!”

  1. sandy ruff Says:

    SO adorable Katie! Love those dollies! Pretty sure I need two of them. 🙂 email me details. Congrats to you on such a fun business!


Leave a Reply

