If I had to wear diapers…

March 27, 2010

…I would pick these!

I am so so pleased to introduce wool diaper covers to sweet*little*knits!  Many cloth diapering mamas use wool covers on their babes because of wool’s complete and total awesomeness.  Wool has antibacterial properties, so wool covers do not need to be washed after every use.  You can let them air dry (unless they’re poopy!!) and reuse them without any smell.  Wool can hold an incredible amount of liquid before it begins to feel wet to the touch.  That makes these covers an awesome choice for nighttime or for heavy wetters.  Wool is very breathable, and will keep your baby warm in the winter and cooler in the summer.  Can you imagine wearing a pair of plastic shorts in the summer?  That can’t be comfortable.

The best part about these sweet covers is that they are SUPER soft.  I pulled one out during a visit to my mom’s last weekend, and no one believed me that it was wool.  My family kept feeling it over and over and asking me if I was SURE it was wool.  Yes, indeed.  It’s really wool and it’s really that soft.  My preferred wool is Malabrigo.  It is produced in Uruguay and hand-dyed there by a women’s cooperative.  They have some really fabulous colors.  I think if I could knit my entire wardrobe out of Malabrigo, I would.  I find that most wool has at least a little bit of pickiness to it when I rub it up against my neck or wrists.  Malabrigo is one of the only wools I’ve found that doesn’t feel picky at all.  Hooray for amazingly soft wool!

I’m working on getting more covers made for the shop right now, and I will have an option for custom-knit covers soon.  That way you can pick whatever size/color combination you want!  I’m also working on getting a cover made up from Shepherd’s Wool.  It’s every bit as soft as Malabrigo, but it’s made at a farm in Michigan!  I’m always a fan of supporting the motherland as much as possible.  The economic situation there is unbelievable, especially near my hometown.  There are still a few kinks to work out with the Shepherd’s Wool covers, but as soon as they’re ready, I’ll let you know!

There are so many cool things I’m working on for the shop.  I wish I could knit faster so I could show them all to you right now!  But for now, enjoy these sweet little diaper covers.  Too bad I can’t let you feel them through the screen!

Leave a Reply

